Brain Injury Alliance of Colorado

Western Slope/Central Mountain Region – Support Groups for All Types of Brain Injury

List Updated: Apr 11, 2019 @ 11:35 am

Click here to go back to the main Support Groups page


Cripple Creek - All Vets - All Wars - Brain Injury Support Group

Veterans who have had any type of BI and need support or help finding resources to assist them in daily living.

Aspen Mines Community Center
Address: 166 E. Bennett Ave., Cripple Creek, CO 80813
2nd Tues / 10:00 - 11:30am

Contact Information

Julie Booz - IL Specialist - 719.661.0105 - jbooz@the-ic.org
Gail Melton - 719.629.6420 - gmelton@the-ic.org

Cripple Creek - Cross Disabilities

People who have had any type of disability and need support or help finding resources to assist them in daily living.

Aspen Mines Community Center
Address: 166 E. Bennett Ave., Cripple Creek, CO 80813
last Fri / 10:00-11:30am

Contact Information

Julie Booz - IL Specialist - 719.661.0105 - jbooz@the-ic.org
Gail Melton - 719.629.6420 - gmelton@the-ic.org

Cripple Creek - Traumatic Brain Injury Support Group

Brain Injury and stroke survivors, family, friends, community and professionals

Aspen Mine Center
Address: 166 E Bennett Avenue, Cripple Creek, CO 80813
1st & 3rd Tues / 10:00 -11:30am

Contact Information

Julie Booz - IL Specialist - 719.661.0105 - jbooz@the-ic.org
Gail Melton - 719.629.6420 - gmelton@the-ic.org

Eagle County Brain Injury Support Group

Brain Injury and stroke survivors, family, friends, community and professionals

Edwards Interfaith Chapel
Address: 32138 US-6, Edwards, CO 81632
1st and 3rd Mondays of each month / 5:30-7:00pm

Contact Information

Steve Lucido - 970.376.5218 - steve.ecbisg@gmail.com
Joy Ariel - 970.343.0270 - joy.ecbisg@gmail.com

Grand Valley Brain Injury & Epilepsy Support Group

brain injury & epilepsy survivors of all ages, family members, professionals or anyone looking for support with/education on neuropathy

Ratekin Tower Apt. Building
Address: 875 Main St, Grand Junction, CO 81502
1st Wed / 6:00-8:00pm

Contact Information

Drene Stevens - 970.361.5495 - kadyb6@charter.net
Bill Queen - 970.255.1694

Gunnison Brain Injury Support Group

Survivors of brain injury, stroke, or illness & their family or caregivers

Gunnison Valley Hospital Conference Room
Address: 711 N Taylor Street, Gunnison, CO 81230
Day & time of meeting varies - call to confirm

Contact Information

Michael Chiappini - 970.209.6945 - michaelwalks@hotmail.com
- gunnisonbrainstrong@yahoo.com
Jen Moore - 720.771.2784 - jmoore@guh-colorado.org
Kristin Grimes - 720.323.7563 - kgrimes@gvh-colorado.org

Hayden/Steamboat Springs Brain Injury Support Group

Survivors of brain injury

Hayden Public Library
Address: 201 E. Jefferson Ave., Hayden, CO 81639
2nd Fri /

Contact Information

Jerry Van Voorst - - jerry@nwcci.org
- leighsbrain@gmail.com
- micheal@nwcci.org

Montrose Brain Injury Support Group

Survivors of brain injury

San Juan Living Center
Address: 1043 Ridge St., Montrose, CO 81401
Day and time varies - call to confirm

Contact Information

Lynn Neal - 970.596.1064 - lynnneal790@yahoo.com

Montrose Memorial Hospital Brain Injury Support Group

Brain Injury and stroke survivors, family, friends, community and professionals

Montrose Memorial Hsp, Conference Rm B
Address: 800 S Third St, Montrose CO 81401
2nd & 4th Thurs / 11:00am-12:00noon

Contact Information

Katie Thomas - 970.252.2588 - kthomas@montrosehospital.com

Summit County - Frisco Brain Injury Support Group

Brain Injury Survivors + their family, friends and caregivers. This Support Group is a place where survivors can: hear how others are dealing with their life - post brain injury; be heard as they share their experience; and where caregivers can learn about the best ways to keep themselves healthy for as long as possible in order to continue helping their survivor indefinitely. This Support Group has a different topic or agenda for each meeting.

St. Anthony’s Summit Med Ctr, 1st Floor Classrooms
Address: 340 Peak One Dr., Frisco, CO 80443
Day and time and event varies - call to confirm

Contact Information

Kim Ramey - 970.668.0888 - kimramey@centura.org
Jennifer Kagan - 970.668.6121 - jenniferkagan@centura.org

Summit County - Youth Brain Injury Support Group

Concussion and Brain Injury Survivors - for young adults, high school - middle school students and their supporters, friends, and family.

Location of meeting varies
day, time and activity varies - please call to confirm

Contact Information

Melissa Volkert - 970.668.6980 - melissavolkert@centura.org
Jennifer Kagan - 970.668.6121 - jenniferkagan@centura.org

Yampa Valley Brain Injury Peer Support Group

People living with brain injuries, including but not limited to Parkinson’s, stroke survivors, Cerebral Palsy, Epilepsy, and Post- Traumatic Stress. Family, friends and loved-ones welcome.

NorthWest Colorado Center for Independence - unless a special event or outing is planned
Address: 1306 Lincoln Ave. Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
4th Friday / 5:30 - 7:00pm

Contact Information

Ian Engle - 303.720.9405 - ian@nwcci.org