Brain Injury Alliance of Colorado

Who We Are

Brain injury can be hard to see and understand, but at Brain Injury Alliance of Colorado, we get it. We know each person with a brain injury is unique and can be struggling with so many things. Every day, we provide the support, connections, and available resources that survivors and their support network need. Because when we do, survivors of a brain injury have a chance to thrive.

Vision
That all persons with a brain injury thrive in their community.

Mission
To provide the support, connections, and available resources that survivors and their support network need.

The Brain Injury Alliance of Colorado is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.

Board of Directors

Russha Knauer
Colorado Judicial Branch
Chair

Steve Schaefer
Encompass Health Rehabilitation Hospital
Chair-Elect

Dan Frank
Craig Hospital
Treasurer

Tristen Smith
Morgan Stanley Wealth Management
Secretary

Mike Dichario
Children’s Hospital Colorado

Paul Herzog
Cresa Denver

Angela McGraw
Parker Lipman

Sarah Brittain
Colorado Brain Recovery

Keith Fuicelli
Fuicelli & Lee P.C.

Steve Harlan
Sunflower Bank

Nicole Schiavone RN-Owner
A Wildflower Assisted Living & Care Home Inc.

Rene Mills M.S., CCC-SLP, CBIST
Learning Services – Rocky Mountain Region

Amanda Pfeil Hood
Ogborn Mihm LLP

Janet Laning-Krug
Douglas County Schools
Summit Grant Studio

Linda (L) Draayers
Brain Care LLC

Diane Byrne
Colorado Department of Health Care Policy & Financing

Albert Zweig
Attorney at Law

Doug Laird
Retired from Janus Henderson Group

Dr. Eric Spier
BIAC Medical Director

Kenny Hosack
BIAC Founder
Lifetime Honorary Board Member

Staff

Kate Kerkmans, LCSW, CBIS
President/CEO 
Kate@BIAColorado.org

Jaime Horsfall, LPC, CBIST
Vice President of Professional Programs/MINDSOURCE Outreach Director
Jaime@BIAColorado.org

Gabriela Ryan, MA, CBIS
Vice President of Client Programs/MINDSOURCE Director
Gabriela@BIAColorado.org

Veronica Phelan
Director of Human Resources
Veronica@BIAColorado.org

Cao Buck, MS
Director of Resident Services
Cao@BIAColorado.org

George Rubinstein, LCSW, CBIS
Mental Health Counselor
George@BIAColorado.org

Susan Brown, MA, LPC, CBIS
Mental Health Counselor
Susan@BIAColorado.org

Denice Enriquez, CBIS
Program Manager – Criminal Justice Systems
Denice@BIAColorado.org

Jack Storti, CBIS, CAS
Program Manager – Denver Reentry
Jack@BIAColorado.org

Kevin Taulman, MA
Program Manager – Education Consultation/Youth Services
Kevin@BIAColorado.org

Michael Zavala, CTRS
Program Manager – Adaptive Recreation/Activities
Michael@BIAColorado.org

Mikalia Gray, CBIS
Program Manager – Systems Outreach
Mikalia@BIAColorado.org

Zach Hudson
Program Manager – Peer Mentorship
Zach@BIAColorado.org

Mikayla Florian, CBIST
Program Manager – Resource Navigation
Mikayla@BIAColorado.org

Niko Medina, CBIS
Program Manager – Resource Navigation
Niko@BIAColorado.org

Peggy Hugger, RN, CBIS
Program Manager – Self-management 
Peggy@BIAColorado.org

Chris Gonzales
Brain Injury Resource Navigator
ChristinaG@BIAColorado.org

Marissa Oakley, CBIS
Brain Injury Resource Navigator
Marissa@BIAColorado.org

Teresa Bernie
Brain Injury Resource Navigator
Teresa@BIAColorado.org

Kelsie Fucci
Brain Injury Resource Navigator (Southern CO)
Kelsie@BIAColorado.org

Paula Pyc, CBIS
Brain Injury Resource Navigator and Advisor (Northern CO)
Paula@BIAColorado.org

Angie Combs, MA, CBIS
Brain Injury Advisor
Angie@BIAColorado.org

Christina Johnson, MA, CBIS
Brain Injury Advisor
Christina@BIAColorado.org

Fred Hinton, CBIS
Brain Injury Advisor (Southern CO)
Fred@BIAColorado.org

Jennie Bills
Accountant
Finance@BIAColorado.org

Kara Boyd
Programs/Executive Assistant
Kara@BIAColorado.org