Brain Injury Alliance of Colorado

Who We Are

The Brain Injury Alliance of Colorado is the go-to resource for help and services for survivors of an injury to the brain, their families, and providers.

Vision
That all persons with a brain injury thrive in their community.

Mission
Through guidance, resources, support, and education, we seek to engage with Coloradans in the lifelong growth of those affected by an injury to the brain.

The Brain Injury Alliance of Colorado is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.

Board of Directors

Russha Knauer
Colorado Judicial Branch
Chair

Steve Schaefer
Encompass Health Rehabilitation Hospital
Chair-Elect

Dave Yang
Ernst & Young
Treasurer

Tristen Smith
Morgan Stanley Wealth Management
Secretary

Mike Dichario
Children’s Hospital Colorado

Paul Herzog
Cresa Denver

Dan Frank
Craig Hospital

Angela McGraw
Burg Simpson

Sarah Brittain
Colorado Brain Recovery

Keith Fuicelli
Fuicelli & Lee P.C.

Steve Harlan
Sunflower Bank

Nicole Schiavone RN-Owner
A Wildflower Assisted Living & Care Home Inc.

Rene Mills M.S., CCC-SLP, CBIST
Learning Services – Rocky Mountain Region

Amanda Pfeil Hood
Ogborn Mihm LLP

Janet Laning-Krug
Douglas County Schools
Summit Grant Studio

Linda (L) Draayers
Brain Care LLC

Diane Byrne
Colorado Department of Health Care Policy & Financing

Dr. Eric Spier
BIAC Medical Director

Kenny Hosack
BIAC Founder
Lifetime Honorary Board Member

Staff


Gavin Attwood

President/Chief Executive Officer
Gavin@BIAColorado.org

Kate Kerkmans, LCSW, CBIS
Vice President of Client Programs/MINDSOURCE Director
Kate@BIAColorado.org

Jaime Horsfall, LPC, CBIST
Vice President of Professional Programs/MINDSOURCE Outreach Director
Jaime@BIAColorado.org

Veronica Phelan
Director of Human Resources
Veronica@BIAColorado.org

Tina Ziwak
Development Officer – Special Events 
Tina@BIAColorado.org

Mikalia Gray, CBIS
Program Manager – Systems Outreach
Mikalia@BIAColorado.org

Zach Hudson
Program Manager – Peer Mentorship
Zach@BIAColorado.org

Lucia Valdez, MSW, CBIS
Program Manager – Clinical Services 
Lucia@BIAColorado.org

Susan Brown, MA, LPC, CBIS
Mental Health Counselor
Susan@BIAColorado.org

George Rubinstein, MSW, CBIS
Clinical Services Referral Coordinator
George@BIAColorado.org

Michael Zavala, CTRS
Program Manager – Adaptive Recreation/Activities
Michael@BIAColorado.org

Kevin Taulman, MA
Program Manager – Education Consultation/Youth Services
Kevin@BIAColorado.org

Mikayla Florian, CBIST
Program Manager – Resource Navigation
Mikayla@BIAColorado.org

Niko Medina, CBIS
Program Manager – Resource Navigation
Niko@BIAColorado.org

Peggy Hugger, RN, CBIS
Program Manager – Self-management 
Peggy@BIAColorado.org

Marissa Oakley
Brain Injury Resource Navigator
Marissa@BIAColorado.org

Chris Gonzales
Brain Injury Resource Navigator
ChristinaG@BIAColorado.org

Kelsie Fucci
Brain Injury Resource Navigator
Kelsie@BIAColorado.org

Angie Combs, MA
Brain Injury Advisor
Angie@BIAColorado.org

Christina Johnson, MA
Brain Injury Advisor
Christina@BIAColorado.org

Rhea Pedler, CBIS
Brain Injury Advisor
Rhea@BIAColorado.org

Paula Pyc, CBIS
Brain Injury Resource Navigator and Advisor
Paula@BIAColorado.org

Denice Enriquez, CBIS
Brain Injury Resource Navigator and Advisor
Denice@BIAColorado.org

Jack Storti, CBIS, ACC
Brain Injury Re-entry Specialist
Jack@BIAColorado.org

Jennie Bills
Accountant
Finance@BIAColorado.org

Kara Boyd
Programs/Executive Assistant
Kara@BIAColorado.org