Brain Injury Alliance of Colorado

Who We Are

The Brain Injury Alliance of Colorado is the go-to resource for help and services for survivors of an injury to the brain, their families, and providers.

Vision
That all persons with a brain injury thrive in their community.

Mission
Through guidance, resources, support, and education, we seek to engage with Coloradans in the lifelong growth of those affected by an injury to the brain.

The Brain Injury Alliance of Colorado is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.

Board of Directors

Russha Knauer
Colorado Judicial Branch
Chair

Jennifer Biggs
Kindred Hospital
Past-Chair

Dave Yang
Ernst & Young
Treasurer

Tristen Smith
Morgan Stanley Wealth Management
Secretary

Mike Dichario
Children’s Hospital Colorado

Paul Herzog
Cresa Denver

Dan Frank
Craig Hospital

Angela McGraw
Burg Simpson

Sarah Brittain
Colorado Brain Recovery

Keith Fuicelli
Fuicelli & Lee P.C.

Steve Harlan
U.S. Bank

Steve Schaefer
Encompass Health Rehabilitation Hospital
Colorado Springs

Nicole Schiavone RN-Owner
A Wildflower Assisted Living & Care Home Inc.

Rene Mills M.S., CCC-SLP, CBIST
Learning Services – Rocky Mountain Region

Amanda Pfeil Hood
Ogborn Mihm LLP

Janet Laning-Krug
Douglas County Schools
Summit Grant Studio

Linda (L) Draayers
Brain Care LLC

Diane Byrne
Colorado Department of Health Care Policy & Financing

Eric Spier
BIAC Medical Director

Kenny Hosack
BIAC Founder
Lifetime Honorary Board Member

Staff


Gavin Attwood

President/Chief Executive Officer
Gavin@BIAColorado.org

Kate Kerkmans, LCSW, CBIS
Vice President of Client Programs/MINDSOURCE Director
Kate@BIAColorado.org

Jaime Horsfall, LPCC, CBIST
Vice President of Professional Programs/MINDSOURCE Outreach Director
Jaime@BIAColorado.org

Lisa Cheney-Philp, MURP
Evaluation Liaison & HR Strategist
Lisa@BIAColorado.org

Veronica Phelan
Director of Human Resources
Veronica@BIAColorado.org

Tina Ziwak
Development Officer – Special Events 
Tina@BIAColorado.org

Ellen Kordonowy, CBIS
Program Manager – Systems Outreach
Ellen@BIAColorado.org

Liam Donevan, CBIS
Program Manager – Criminal Justice Systems
Liam@BIAColorado.org

Zach Hudson
Program Manager – Peer Mentorship
Zach@BIAColorado.org

Mark Condon
Program Coordinator – Support Groups
Mark@BIAColorado.org
To find out more about Mark as a Professional Speaker, click here

Lucia Valdez, MSW
Program Manager – Clinical Services 
Lucia@BIAColorado.org

Susan Brown, MA, LPCC, CBIS
Mental Health Counselor
Susan@BIAColorado.org

Michael Zavala, CTRS
Program Manager – Adaptive Recreation/Activities
Michael@BIAColorado.org

Kevin Taulman, MA
Program Manager – Education Consultation/Youth Services
Kevin@BIAColorado.org

Mikayla Florian, CBIS
Program Manager – Resource Navigation
Mikayla@BIAColorado.org

Niko Medina, CBIS
Program Manager – Resource Navigation
Niko@BIAColorado.org

Peggy Hugger, RN, CBIS
Program Manager – Self-management 
Peggy@BIAColorado.org

Carol Cochran, MA, CBIS
Brain Injury Resource Navigator
Carol@BIAColorado.org

Mikalia Gray, CBIS
Brain Injury Resource Navigator
Mikalia@BIAColorado.org

Elina Konikova
Brain Injury Resource Navigator
Elina@BIAColorado.org

Marissa Oakley
Brain Injury Resource Navigator
Marissa@BIAColorado.org

George Rubinstein, MSW, CBIS
Brain Injury Advisor
George@BIAColorado.org

Kimberly Nihon, CBIS
Brain Injury Advisor
Kimberly@BIAColorado.org

Rhea Pedler, CBIS
Brain Injury Advisor
Rhea@BIAColorado.org

Audrey McNeely, CBIS
Brain Injury Resource Navigator and Advisor
Audrey@BIAColorado.org

Paula Pyc, CBIS
Brain Injury Resource Navigator and Advisor
Paula@BIAColorado.org

Christina Johnson, MA
Brain Injury Re-entry Specialist
Christina@BIAColorado.org

Jack Storti, CBIS, ACC, ILST
Brain Injury Re-entry Specialist
Jack@BIAColorado.org

Jillsa Aringdale
Programs/Executive Assistant
Jillsa@BIAColorado.org

Jennie Bills
Accountant
Finance@BIAColorado.org